Blini (Russian Crepes)

Blini

Another quick recipe! I was originally going to make this for pancake day but life (and fluffy Japanese-style pancakes shameless plug) got in the way.

I wanted to make this all because I was reading fanfiction about one of my favourite anime (Yuri!!! on Ice. The 3 exclamation points are very important) and the Russian character started talking about blinis. Which are apparently Russian crepes. Don’t judge me.

I ate mine with some sweetened condensed milk, Marco Polo jelly (or should I say, gelée. Ohohohoho look at how cultured I am. It’s a type of tea-infused jelly), and whipped cream. I think most people eat blinis as something savoury? Like in an hors d’oeuvre. Woah I had to google that spelling.

Ingredients (the original recipe predicted about 7-8 crepes but I ended up with 4, not sure if it was because of differences in the size of the pan/thickness of crepe)

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of milk (or heavy cream if you’re feeling greedy. Guess which one I went for)
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Approximately 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil + more for oiling the pan

Method

  1. Whisk the egg, milk, sugar, and salt together.
  2. Slowly start stirring in the flour. Start with half of the flour and gradually add in a little at a time until you get a runny batter that is thicker than milk.
  3. Stir in the oil. Then cover and let rest for 15 mins.
  4. Preheat a large non-stick pan over medium heat and oil the pan using a kitchen towel lightly soaked in oil. Use either a 1/4 cup or 1/3 cup (whichever is more appropriate for the size of pan you chose) to scoop the batter (for consistency). Quickly tilt the pan until the batter spreads to cover the pan surface.
  5. Cook for 2-3 mins until small bubbles start to form on top and bottom is a light golden brown. Then flip and cook for 30 seconds, or until the other side is a light golden brown as well.
  6. Oil the pan before each blini.

Notes

  • Yeah the recipe seems a little imprecise but honestly it’s quite forgiving and you can always adjust the consistency of your batter with more flour if it’s too thin and more milk if it’s too thick.
  • I found that the batter got quite lumpy and I had to really work to get the lumps out. So I think just be a bit more careful when adding the flour and really whisk well.
Leave a Reply

