Manjari Hot Chocolate

My favourite hot chocolate of all time.

20160413_190228 copy

This hot chocolate basically just consists of two ingredients: chocolate and milk. So this is going to taste like pure, creamy, melted chocolate. You should probably pick a good chocolate.

20160413_190708 copy

The chocolate I used was Valronha Manjari chocolate – a 64% dark chocolate with fruity, acidic notes to it. I had some leftover from my Salted Valrhona Manjari Dark Chocolate Rye Cookies, thank goodness. Didn’t have to burn another hole in my wallet buying another bar of chocolate.

(And I only made one glass of hot chocolate, I just copied and pasted that glass because I didn’t know what to do with all that black space.)

20160413_191453 copy

Topping this rich drink off is a giant puffy marshmallow. Breaking through that crunchy exterior and allowing that chocolate to permeate that fluffiness is just so pleasing to the eyes. And it tastes good too of course.

I didn’t measure out anything when making this, so I’m really guessing the ingredient amounts listed below. But this is a really forgiving recipe (if you can even call it a recipe). Just adjust all quantities to your taste.

Ingredients

  • 50g Manjari chocolate, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup milk of your choice (I used hazelnut milk this time to try to get a little taste of Nutella in there, but you’ll get a creamier product if you use milk. See notes.)
  • Marshmallow to top

Method

  1. Place your marshmallow in a ramekin and lightly toast in an oven.
  2. In a small saucepan, heat up your milk until it just starts to boil.
  3. Remove the milk from heat and dump your chocolate in there. Let it sit for about a minute, then stir until the whole thing’s smooth.
  4. Pour the hot chocolate into a glass. Top with the toasted marshmallow.

Notes

  • Stole this recipe from a friend (hi).
  • If you want a richer hot chocolate, add more chocolate. Or get a milk with a higher fat percentage.
  • I’d recommend using standard full-fat milk in this recipe instead of a nut milk (I mean if you’re not lactose intolerant or vegan, of course) like I used since any nut flavour was overpowered by the chocolate and the hot chocolate lost its usual creaminess.
Leave a Reply

