Roasted Garlic Wholemeal Sourdough

So garlicky. So good.

20160211_195723 copy

Looking at garlic cut cross-section always makes me vaguely uncomfortable. Those holes, man.

20160212_174102 copy

I used the same wholemeal recipe as my Yin-Yang Sourdough.

20160212_185237 copy

And I finally unearthed a knife sharp enough to score my bread! My sourdoughs will now soar to greater heights.

20160212_185234 copy

Rustic.

20160212_193706 copy

I’ve previously made another roasted garlic bread (although it wasn’t a sourdough) and I decided to go back to the flavour because it’s sooo good. The garlic becomes sweeter and nuttier after roasting, and, of course, you don’t get the raw garlic smell/taste anymore.

Also, I think it’s time to compile a list of Sally’s (my sourdough mother/starter) many children.

Sally sure gets around.

Ingredients

  • 250g sourdough starter (mine was at 100% hydration, see notes)
  • 125g strong white flour
  • 250g wholemeal flour
  • 225g water
  • 12g salt
  • 3 bulbs of garlic (see notes)

Method

  1. Cut each garlic bulb into half horizontally and wrap them in foil. Bake at 200°C until garlic is browned. Let cool before squeezing all the garlic paste out.
  2. Mix the starter with the water in a large bowl until combined. Then add the flour and mix.
  3. Tip out onto a work surface and knead until smooth and elastic. It might be a bit sticky at first but just keep kneading and it will come together.
  4. Cover and let rise for about 5 hours until doubled in size.
  5. Shape and place the dough into a well-floured banneton (of if you don’t have one just shape it well). Cover and let rise in the fridge overnight.
  6. The next morning, let the dough come back to room temperature
  7. Preheat your oven to 230°C, and place a tray half-filled with water at the bottom of the oven. This is to create a steam oven.
  8. Tip the dough out of the banneton onto a lined baking tray. Score the dough (if you want) and put into a preheated oven. Spray the oven liberally with water from a spray bottle.
  9. Bake at 230°C for 30 mins. Then turn down the heat to 200°C and bake for 20-30 mins.
  10. The bread is ready when you tap it and it sounds hollow. Let the bread cool on a cooling rack before cutting into it.

Notes

  • The bulbs of garlic I had were quite small, I think 3 of them could have fit on one hand. Adjust according to the size of garlic you have/your preference.
  • I’ve adjusted the salt content from the Yin-Yang Sourdough recipe since I used 8g and it tasted a little under-salted.
  • A 100% hydration starter just means my starter was equal parts by weight flour and water. If you have no idea what I’m talking about check out my previous post on sourdough.
  • This bread is a 50% wholemeal bread at 70% hydration.
  • Letting the bread rise a second time in the fridge retards its growth, giving it a stronger flavour.
  • Scoring helps direct the shape your bread will rise when baked. For example the big cross I used in this sourdough is supposed to help it rise upwards.
2 thoughts on “Roasted Garlic Wholemeal Sourdough

  1. These all sound heavenly. Can’t wait to get started on them.
    Regarding a knife sharp enough to score your loaves – have you tried using an X-acto knife or a scalpel? You can grab an X-acto (and extra blades) in any hobby or craft shop.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And yes I’ve heard about that! But I couldn’t be bothered to go out to get one haha
      I’ve since got a proper bread lame for my Christmas present though! So my scoring game is definitely going to be stronger now. 😀
      Let me know if you do make your own bread! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

