Chocolate Lava Cake with Salted Egg Yolk Custard Centre

Sheer decadence.

20160214_190210 copy

It’s technically still Valentine’s Day. Which means it’s time for chocolate!

20160214_190418 copy

And I really needed to use my leftover salted eggs from when I made my Charcoal Buns with Salted Egg Yolk Custard Filling so I combined the two, plagiarised a cafe in Singapore, and came out with this chocolate lava cake/chocolate fondant/molten chocolate cake/chocolate moelleux (I properly Wikipedia-ed this).

20160214_191815 copy

Check out that stained baking pan.

If you like sweet and salty together you’re going to like this. You kind of get the appeal of dark chocolate with salt, but with the rich creaminess from the salted egg yolk.

20160214_192211 copy

Casual cocoa dusting.

20160214_192419 copy

The salted egg yolk filling wasn’t as flowy as I would have liked it to be though. I had the same problem when trying to make my charcoal buns, and I thought that was because of the long baking time but I guess not. Should probably switch my recipe source the next time.

I suggest just using the filling recipe from where I got this recipe from instead of the one I’m going to list below. I mean the one I used still tasted good, and with a bit of cheeky urging you can give the illusion of flowiness like in the photo above. But you’re not going to get that dramatic video of the lava spilling out when you cut into it.

Ingredients (serves 3)

Filling (you might end up with extra)

  • 70g caster sugar
  • 65g custard powder
  • 55g milk powder
  • 100g unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 salted egg yolk, steamed and mashed
  • 2 tbsp evaporated milk

Cake

  • 75g dark chocolate
  • 38g unsalted butter, softened
  • 38g double cream
  • 75g egg (about 2 medium eggs)
  • 38g egg yolk (about 2 medium egg yolks)
  • 22g sugar
  • 30g cake flour
  • Cocoa powder (to decorate, optional)

Method

Filling

  1. Mix the custard powder, caster sugar, and milk powder together and stir until well combined. Add in the butter and evaporated milk and mix until it becomes a paste.
  2. Add in the salted mashed egg yolks. Put in the freezer for 2 mins for it to firm up a bit.
  3. Divide into 50g balls and freeze until hardened (about 4 hours).
  4. Eat the extra.

Cake

  1. Melt the chocolate, cream, and butter in a mixing bowl (either over a double boiler or microwave on low).
  2. In a separate bowl, combine the eggs and sugar.
  3. Combine the chocolate and egg mixtures then add in the sifted flour until just combined. Don’t mix for too long.
  4. Brush the ramekins with melted butter. Dust cocoa powder into the ramekins and tip out the excess. This is to stop the lava cake from sticking to the ramekins.
  5. Pour the batter into the ramekins until it is half full. Place the frozen salted egg yolk filling in the middle of the ramekins. Pour the rest of the chocolate batter over the filling, making sure the filling is covered with batter.
  6. Bake in a preheated oven at 210°C for 10-12 mins or until the top has set.
  7. Run a palette knife round the outside of the cakes to loosen. Place a plate over the top and invert to get the cake out.
  8. Dust some cocoa powder over the top if you want.

Notes

  • My ramekins were about 2/3 cups or 185ml capacity. If you want me to be even more precise, these ramekins are Pots & Co ramekins.
  • I only used just slightly more than half of the filling I made, but the amount of cake batter was just right. If your ramekins are of a different size, adjust accordingly (time to use that math you learnt in school).
  • Adjust your baking time according to the size of your ramekins.
  • If you want to hear me talk more about salted egg yolk read my previous post on Charcoal Buns.

 

Leave a Reply

