Roasted Vegetables and Cheese Bread

The sweetness of the roasted vegetables just marry together with the enriched bread perfectly in this recipe.

20151212_145327

I used the same base dough recipe as the sun-dried tomatoes, basil, and cheese bread recipe I made about a month ago.

20151212_150004

This time I learnt from my mistake and spread the filling across the whole dough before rolling it up.

roasted vegetables and cheese bread

20151212_181051 copy

I baked this bread for a party so I couldn’t get a good crumb shot. I got loads of compliments though! I mean look at it with the filling just spilling out of the dough, like a cornucopia of plenty.

20151212_192302 copy

It tastes good too! I mean, if you like roasted peppers, onions and cheese you’re going to like this. The bread itself is a great enriched bread recipe, not too rich but very moreish.

Ingredients (makes 1 loaf)

  • 1/4 cup warm water (56g)
  • 1/8 cup sugar (25g)
  • 2 tsp instant yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm, low-fat milk (113g)
  • 1/6 cup extra-virgin olive oil (33g)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 cups bread flour (361g)
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 yellow pepper
  • 1 red onion
  • 80g shredded cheese of your choice (I used a mix of cheddar and mozzarella)
  • Garlic powder (optional)
  • Dried rosemary (optional)

Method

  1. Combine water, sugar, yeast, milk, olive oil, eggs, salt, and flour together in a bowl. Knead until you get a smooth elastic dough, about 10 mins.
  2. Grease the surface of the dough ball and place in a covered large bowl until doubled in size (about 1h)
  3. Meanwhile, roast the red pepper, yellow pepper, and red onion for 30 mins at 200°C, or until softened. Let cool.
  4. When the dough has doubled in size, knock back the dough. Tip out onto a well floured surface. Roll it into a big rectangle (about 22″ by 8.5″ in size) using a well-floured rolling pin.
  5. Distribute the vegetables, cheese, garlic powder, and dried rosemary over the surface. Roll it from the long edge, so you get a long sausage. Pinch edges to seal and place the seam side down.
  6. Using kitchen shears, cut the dough 1/2″ from each end and 1″ deep.
  7. Shape the bread into an S shape, tucking the ends under the middle of the bread so you get an 8 shape.
  8. Let the bread rise for 45-60 mins, or until roughly doubled in size.
  9. Bake at 180°C for 35-40 mins. Tent the loaf with foil after 15-20 mins to prevent over-browning.
  10. Cool the bread completely on a wire rack.

Notes

  • The filling of my bread was spilling out so much because I used a lot more cheese since I’m trying to finish the one I had in my fridge. If you want your dough to be a bit neater be a bit more sparing with the filling.
  • It is more important to follow how your bread looks like (eg let bread rise until double in size) rather than the timing, since that is very dependant on many variables like temperature.
  • The edges of my bread was really brown since I tore out a really stingy piece of foil to tent my bread. Student budget. Still tasted alright.
3 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetables and Cheese Bread

Leave a Reply

