Sourdough Pancakes with Roasted Figs, Walnuts, and Cream Cheese

20151130_132019-1 copy.jpg

Another quick pancake recipe this time round! I used my sourdough pancake recipe again (Sally, my sourdough starter, desperately needed to be used). This time I topped it with some roasted figs, adding that extra bit of sticky fruity juiciness. It matched well with the tangy cream cheese and sourdough base, and the toasted walnuts just added texture to that whole thing.

Honestly though the flavour of this to me was not fantastic. I still thought the stewed apple pancakes were better. I mean it was pretty decent, but I just didn’t enjoy chewing through the skin of the figs while eating a sweet pancake. I’m sure this will be up your alley if you like figs though. I also think ricotta would have been a better choice then cream cheese since the sourdough was already pretty tangy, so try that if you want!

Ingredients

  • Figs (I used 4)
  • Butter
  • Honey
  • Cream cheese (a small tub, about 180g)
  • Handful of chopped walnuts, toasted
  • Sweet alcohol of your choice. I used some raspberry liqueur that was just lying around. Partly for its fruitiness, partly because the colour went so well with the figs.

Method

  1. To make the roasted figs: Cut the stem bit of the figs off. Then cut the figs lengthwise. Place them cut-side up in a baking dish, and place a little bit of butter on top of each half. Drizzle some honey and a splash of an alcohol of your choice on top. Bake at 200°C for 10 mins.
  2. To make the cream cheese: Just stir a couple of tablespoons of honey into the cream cheese.
  3. To assemble: Spread the cream cheese on the pancake stack, then arrange the figs and walnuts on top. Drizzle the leftover liquid from the roasted figs over the whole thing.

Notes

  • The recipe quantities here are really informal as I didn’t measure anything. Feel free to adjust.

 

Leave a Reply

