Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

I just love carrot cake! And I especially love carrot cake with looooooads of nuts so if you’re like me, this cake is perfect for you!

20151119_171200 copy

This cake is so moist (my friend just hates that word so let me just say that again: moist). That is contributed to by the can of pineapple used in the recipe, and lots and lots of fat. This cake is not for those on a diet.

(Though of course you can try cutting down on the oil, I’m sure it’ll still taste good)

20151119_192632 copy

This is also my favourite cream cheese frosting as it’s not too sweet, and retains enough tanginess to contrast with the rich flavours of the cake.

20151119_192636 copy

Coming from Singapore, we have an altogether different type of carrot cake (which is in fact not made from carrot, it’s made from radishes and fried), so I sometimes have to clarify which one I made when talking to my Singaporean friends.

I adapted this recipe from foodwishes, and cut down on the fat and sugar (the original really seemed like too much, and I felt the cake I ended up with was perfect). I used my own cream cheese frosting recipe though.

Ingredients

Carrot Cake (makes a 2 thick-layered 8″ cake)

  • 246g all-purpose flour (2 cups)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 400g sugar (about 1 3/4 cups)
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 2 cups raw grated carrots
  • 1 can crushed pineapple, drained (227g)
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (+ more to decorate if you want)

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 380g unsalted butter, softened
  • 380g cream cheese, softened
  • 3 tsp vanilla extract
  • About 250g icing sugar (see notes)

Method

Carrot Cake

  1. Dry mixture: Whisk flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and ginger together.
  2. Wet mixture: In another bowl, beat sugar and eggs until light and fluffy. Then add oil and mix. Then add the butter and mix.
  3. Stir in the carrots, pineapple, and nuts into the wet mixture. Then stir in the dry mixture in two additions.
  4. Butter and line your cake tin. Bake in a preheated 180°C oven for about 45-55 mins.
  5. Let your cake cool in the tin for about 10 mins before tipping it out to cool on a wire rack. This is especially since this cake is quite moist and is extra crumbly when hot. Running a knife around the sides of the cake when it’s out of the oven should make it easier to tip the cake out.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Beat the butter until creamy. Add the cream cheese and vanilla, and beat until light and fluffy.
  2. Slowly add in the icing sugar until you reach your desired sweetness/consistency. Refrigerate the icing to firm up.
  3. When taking your icing out of the fridge, give it a beating to loosen it up.

Assembly

  1. Crumb coat your cake. This basically entails covering your cake with a thin layer of frosting so that when you properly ice your cake later on you don’t see any crumbs.
  2. Refrigerate your cake and frosting for at least 30 mins to firm up.
  3. When your cake has firmed up, ice the cake. Press some chopped walnuts into the side of the cake to decorate.

Notes

  • I used a lot less icing sugar than you usually see in buttercream recipes. I’ve always thought buttercream was way too sweet, and would rather lose the stiffness given by extra icing sugar and compensate for it through refrigeration. So this frosting will be quite a loose one, and you won’t be able to pipe any fancy designs with it unless you add more icing sugar.
  • I didn’t have any ground ginger so I grated some fresh ginger root.
  • I cut out 1/4 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of oil from the original recipe. I thought the sweetness level I ended up with was perfect, but you could probably still reduce the oil if you wanted.
2 thoughts on “Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

